Friday 10 September 2021

Northern border residents will be able to cross the Queensland border from 1am on Monday 13 September for essential work and essential reasons with the reinstatement of the border bubble, following discussions between the NSW and Queensland Governments.

Deputy Premier and Minister for Regional NSW, John Barilaro, said an agreement to include 12 Local Government Areas (LGAs) in the border bubble was reached following discussions with Queensland Deputy Premier Steven Miles.

The 12 LGAs included in the border bubble are Ballina, Byron Bay, City of Lismore, Clarence Valley, Glen Innes Severn, Gwydir, Inverell, Kyogle, Moree Plains, Richmond Valley, Tenterfield and Tweed. As outlined by the Queensland Government today NSW residents can cross the border for essential work, school, essential shopping, medical reasons or caring for people.

Read the Deputy Premier’s statement >